Benefits to a plant based diet???

It’s not everyday I watch Dr. Oz but somehow our TV “coincidentally” ended up on his show last night around supper.

He had some experts on discussing the future of Plant Based Diets and how many people are now recognizing the benefits of eating a “mostly” plant based diet. The main benefit they were promoting was to lose weight (of course) but they also discussed having more energy, improved digestion and an overall healthier feeling. Click the link to view more benefits and information. They also have a nice page to print out on what to eat and when. Click the image or here to get larger version.

21-day-weight-loss-breakthrough-one-sheet

Okay, I’ve tried this before and I know my body. By NO MEANS am I saying this is for everyone! If you feel good eating meat, than eat meat. For example, many people believe in the Paleo Diet. If you feel better eating half and half, then eat half meat and half plant based. For me, I am very aware of what my body needs. I’ve been eating more meat then regular the past couple of months. Christmas and parties, etc. My body has been telling me that I need to eat more greens lately and that’s why I think it was interesting that a show was on our TV that I never watch discussing this exact topic.

“You can’t get enough protein through a plant based diet. You need to eat meat to get the proper amount”

I’ve heard this often from others. I’ve been reading for years now that this is not true and we can get enough proteins on a plant based food plan.

Summary: It is easy for a vegan diet to meet recommendations for protein, as long as calorie intake is adequate. Strict protein combining is not necessary; it is more important to eat a varied diet throughout the day.

As I mentioned, I think everyone should have their own meal plan as all our bodies are different. As long as you feel good and energized, keep doing what you are doing. Just don’t get extreme or you will probably be disappointed. I’m going to do my best but I know I’ll probably only follow it 90% of the time.

FYI – I’m still going to eat meat from time to time. The plan actually says you can substitute 2 meals with animal protein. I love the odd steak so I’m sure I’ll be taking advantage of that!

Let me know your thoughts and how you feel about different styles of meal plans, thanks!

 

Leave a comment